Which European politicians have refused to call Russia a sponsor of terrorism?

Many on the far right and some on the left rejected the symbolic decision to declare Moscow a terrorist regime.

The European Parliament on Wednesday passed a resolution declaring Russia a “sponsor of terrorism” state for its war in Ukraine.

“Deliberate attacks and atrocities committed by Russian forces and their proxies against civilians in Ukraine, the destruction of civilian infrastructure and other serious violations of international and humanitarian law constitute acts of terror and constitute war crimes,” said the European Parliament.

A total of 494 Members of the European Parliament (MEPS) voted in favor of the resolution, 58 were against and 44 abstained.

The largely symbolic decision is unlikely to have any impact, as the European Union – unlike the United States – does not have the legal framework to designate countries. Across the Atlantic, on the American list are North Korea, Syria, Cuba and Iran.

The EU established its terrorism list in 2001, following the September 11 attacks in New York.

It includes people, groups and entities and is reviewed at least every six months.

The armed groups ISIL (ISIS) and al-Qaeda are among those currently on the list.

Which members voted against the resolution?

Russia is the first country to be declared a state sponsor of terrorism by the European Parliament.

However, MPs were not unanimous in their vote, with a larger proportion of parliament’s right-wing bloc against Russia’s association with terrorism.

Twenty-six members of the far-right political group Identity and Democracy voted against designating Russia as a sponsor of terrorism.

INTERACTIVE - European Parliament vote on the qualification of Russia as a terrorist state

Here is a breakdown of votes by country, home country party and member:

Those French politicians who voted against the resolution are all members of the Rassemblement national or Rassemblement national, led by Marine Le Pen.

  • Mathilde Androuet
  • Jordan Bardela
  • Aurelia Beigneux
  • Dominique Bilde
  • Annika Bruna
  • Patricia Chagnon
  • Marie Dauchy
  • Jean-Paul Garraud
  • Catherine Griset
  • Jean-Francois Jalkh
  • France Jamet
  • Virginia Joron
  • Jean Lin Lacapelle
  • Gilles Lebreton
  • Thierry Mariani
  • Philip Olivier
  • Andre Rouge

The following German politicians who voted against the resolution are all members of the far-right Alternative for Germany or Alternative für Deutschland (AfD).

  • Christine Anderson
  • Gunnar Beck
  • Nicholas Fest
  • Maximilian Krah
  • Joachim Kuhs
  • Guido Reil
  • Bernhard Zimniok

Czech MEPs, members of the populist Freedom and Direct Democracy party, or Svoboda a přímá demokracie:

A member of the centre-right European Conservatives and Reformists group voted against the resolution:

  • Emmanouil Fragkos, whose party in Greece is Greek Solution, or Elliniki Lusi-Greek Solution

Twelve members of the centre-left Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats voted against the resolution.

From Bulgaria – all with the centre-left Bulgarian Socialist Party:

  • Ivo Hristov
  • Tsvetelina Penkova
  • Sergei Stanishev
  • Petar Vitanov
  • Elena Yocheva

From Germany – all with the Social Democratic Party of Germany or Sozialdemokratische Partei Deutschlands (SPD), which is Chancellor Olaf Scholz’s party:

  • Joachim Schuster
  • Dietmar Koster

From Italy – these three politicians belong to the Partito Democratico or the Democratic Party:

  • Peter Bartolo
  • Andrea Cozzolino
  • Massimiliano Smeriglio

From Slovakia:

  • Monika Beňová (SMER-Sociálna demokracia, or Leadership – Slovak Social Democracy)
  • Robert Hajsel (Independent)

Ten members of the left group in the European Parliament voted against the resolution:

From Belgium:

  • Marc Botenga (Parti du Travail de Belgique or Belgian Workers’ Party – which is a Marxist party)

From Cyprus:

  • Niyazi Kizilyürek (Progressive Workers’ Party – Left – New Forces)

From the Czech Republic:

  • Kateřina Konečná (Komunistická strana Čech a Moravy, or Communist Party of Bohemia and Moravia)

From Germany (DIE LINKE. party, or The Left party):

  • Ozlem Demirel
  • Martin Schirdewan

From Portugal (Partido Comunista Português, or Portuguese Communist Party – a Marxist-Leninist group)

  • Sandra Pereira
  • Joao Pimenta Lopes

From Ireland (Independents 4 Change):

From Spain:

  • Miguel Urban Crespo (Anticapitalists)

Nine MEPs who are not affiliated with any political formation also voted against the resolution:

  • Nicolas Bay (France – Reconquest!, or Reconquest – a nationalist party)
  • Francesca Donato (Italy – now independent but formerly with the far right Lega Nord, or Northern league led by Matteo Salvini)
  • Marcel De Graaff (Netherlands – Forum voor Democratie, or Forum for Democracy, a right-wing populist party)
  • Lefteris Nikolaou-Alavanos (Greece – Greek Communist Party)
  • Kostas Papadakis (Greece – Greek Communist Party)
  • Miroslav Radačovský (Slovakia – Slovak PATRIOT, which is a right-wing party)
  • Milan Uhrík (Slovakia – Hnutie Republika or Republic – a far-right party)
  • Martin Sonneborn (Germany – Die Partei or The Party, which is a satirical party)
  • Tatjana Ždanoka (Latvia – Latvijas Krievu savienība or the Latvian Russian Union, which is supported by ethnic Russians and other Russian-speaking minorities)


#European #politicians #refused #call #Russia #sponsor #terrorism

Related Articles

Back to top button